travel

Siargao Series 1/3 – How To Get To Siargao Island

If you had been following me on my Social Media accounts (links should be in the right side if you are using a computer, or at the bottom if you are using a Mobile Phone or a tablet), you should already know that me and the Gorgeouses had recently been to Siargao Island, the surfing capital of the Philippines. And of course, I won’t miss to share the details of our trip with you.

But before I do, let me just tell you first that me and my friends are those type of
people who are always on the look-out for Airfare promos. Lol. Yes, we are cheap
like that. But this is what allows us to be able to travel all around the country at least twice a year.

So when we booked our trip, the promo was way much cheaper for Manila to Butuan travel rather than going straight to Surigao City itself. The list of our travel expenses can be found below but if you are going straight to Surigao, just disregard the details about our Butuan City travel.

Upon arriving to Butuan City airport, we rode a multicab to PPA then jumped in for a boat ride to Magallanes. It was where we spent our night at because it is where my house is.

See also: The longest river in Mindanao!

The following day, we headed to Cabadbaran City Bus terminal via a motorsikad. Then on to a 2-and-a-half-hour bus ride to Surigao City. I know, it was the most tiring trip of my life. It took 2 days to get from Manila to Siargao but whatever, cheaper airfare is still our priority. Haha. And oh, please do not base your airfare with ours, even as an estimate, since it was only a Cebu Pacific promo.

Once you’re in Surigao City, head to the PPA (Philippine Ports Authority) since it is where you will need to go to ride a ferry to Siargao. It should take about 3-4 hours to reach Siargao Island from Surigao City. The ferry will dock at Dapa which is still about 30 minutes away from General Luna (the tourist spot) so you will still need to ride a tricycle to get there.

Here is the breakdown of our travel expenses going to Siargao:capture

I had been going in and out of Siargao on a yearly basis but have not had the chance to book in a hotel since I only stay with my relatives. But if you are interested, I know an affordable place to stay, just comment down below.

For a visual of our trip and some historic information about our stops along the way, you can watch my vlog here:

For more questions, again, just write them in the comment section below. And I will have another post next week for our official Day 1 Tour in Siargao. It was a lot of fun so watch out for it! 😉

Until then,

Lady Franchesca

One thought on “Siargao Series 1/3 – How To Get To Siargao Island

Leave a Reply

